I’m Average

We have an obsession with being ‘special’, whatever that means. We go to great lengths to avoid being ‘normal’, whatever that means. When we think of being ‘normal’, I assume most people instantly think ‘boring’ – at least that’s where my mind takes me.

There are influences left, right, and centre for making you think that you want to be the to stand out. No, as far as I’m aware, we’re not encouraged by our culture to just fit in and be like everyone else. Don’t get me wrong, this is good – incredibly good, in fact. The goal of this encouragement is so that people just try and be themselves, which I love, but it does also go a bit beyond that. We’re urged into this mindset that there are certain people who are special, ‘chosen ones’ if you will. Most of us grew up reading books like Harry Potter and watching shows Buffy the Vampire Slayer that feature the trope of there being a ‘chosen one’. Hell, I’ve wanted to be Buffy for a long, long, long time, and I don’t see that stopping anytime soon.

zap2it.com

There are certain people we think of as ‘special’ – that beautiful one you see in class, the extremely athletic one who got a scholarship, that one that got the part in the play, and so on. I’m sure most of us think of celebrities as a whole as special people – generally anyone in the spotlight in media will have that tagline in my head. That’s why we want to be these people; we want to be special, we want to be extraordinary. Damn, even that word: extra ordinary. We don’t want plain ol’ ordinary, we want that extra.

allthesherlockgifs.tumblr

I consider myself to be an average sort of person, and it’s bloody difficult to be happy with that and, more importantly, be proud of that. I live in a nice flat in London, I have a part-time job, I get to go to higher education and, one day, I’ll be able to have a job which (hopefully) is one that I’m happy in. There aren’t many people who can say that they have all of that, which is why I have to remind myself daily to be happy with my life and what I have. I’m lucky to live where I do, to have the family that I have, and have the drive to work hard for what I want. So I’m not a celebrity for my incredible talents. So I didn’t get that part in the play I really wanted. So I’m not doing anything incredibly exciting or going on adventures or holidays that I see others going on. I may well get average marks despite working my arse off, but I need to stop thinking that that isn’t a good thing. So I’m not top of the class – that doesn’t mean I’m at the bottom.

Earlier this year, I gave myself this tagline: average. I was pretty bummed about it, until I realised that just because I’m not off bungee jumping a mountain abroad or featuring as a debut actress in a movie doesn’t mean that I’m an average person overall. What does ‘average’ even mean? Is there really a ‘normal’ that we’re all trying not to be? Just because you’re not in the spotlight doesn’t mean you’re any ‘less’ of a person than those who are in it. Maybe you’re the cheerleader screaming on the sidelines, supporting everyone around you and holding them all up. I’m happy with that.

imgur.com

Man, I love Buffy. For more of my random thoughts and musings, be sure to follow this blog and leave a comment on how you feel about this. Or even a comment about how much you love Buffy. All are welcome.

giphy.com

 

3 thoughts on “I’m Average

  1. I love the sentiment of the blog. Society urges us to do more, buy more, have more and teaches us that if we do not accept that situation, we are less. But you are right, to enjoy what you have and embrace all opportunities IS our reason for being and if that also happens to entail to also spread some happiness to those around us, hey, we’re suddenly pretty special!
    There is no normal, there is only special.
    Et voila!

  2. Pingback: Room for Improvement | alwayslovetowrite

Leave a Reply

