It’s a Resolution

Yep, it’s that time of year again. Time to look back at last years resolutions that I wrote down and to make some new ones.

2015 was an interesting year for me; survived first year, got a new job, met wonderful people, had surgery (again), moved to Vauxhall, also moved to Hove/Brighton area – and I wrapped it all up on New Year’s Eve watching the London fireworks from just outside my flat with my friends.

Right, let’s see what I wanted last year.

  1. Have a great first year – academically and socially.

Honestly? I did. I passed the year, made wonderful friends, and since starting second year have made even more. It goes to show that if you make an effort to get out there and are friendly, you’re bound to meet some fantastic people.

2. Do more writing and DO something about it.

Yes, past self, I done did. Now a consistent writer for The London Economic, more updated on now two blogs, and I’ve contacted agents left, right, and centre. Yes, I got rejected time and again, but I tried, and I’ll try again. I also participated in NaNoWriMo, and rekindled my love of writing.

3. Be more outgoing. 

Well, that depends on your definition (which I notice, past self, that you did not include – for shame). I’ve tried clubbing a few more times (still prefer a nice chat in a pub with food), but I have been able to be the first one to start conversations and go around chatting to as many people as possible like I’m collecting cards for something.

http://www.hercampus.com

…So, that was 2015. Moving onwards.

  1. Be happy, be positive, keep going

It’s hard to try and not regret anything, but that’s what I want to do. I don’t want to just pretend to be happy when I’m not for other people’s sake.

https://www.tumblr.com/search/don’t%20worry%20be%20happy%20gif

2. As hard as it may be, write more and contact more agents. 

Rejections, here I come. If you don’t try, you can’t succeed and all that. 

http://www.imgur.com

3. Now for a book challenge: read 50. 

One down, 49 to go.

There’s a theme this year and that’s to keep going. A piece of advice my Mum gave me this year: don’t put yourself down, everyone else will do that for you. Ignore the haters, future self, you’ve got this.

Good luck, you’re going to need it.

good-luck-gif

One thought on “It’s a Resolution

Leave a Reply

