University Living

Surprised to hear from me? Thought I’d died at university after a few weeks? Well, hate to burst your bubble but I’m back with a ton of new things to share, but of course now that I’ve found a moment to write this post everything I’d thought of writing has flown straight out of my head.

University is everything that I expected – but also a hell of a lot more. For starters, my room is pretty awesome considering it was the cheapest option for KCL and the people on my floor are even better – the one downside is that my window looks out onto the smoking shelter, which has people there 24/7, who all stare at me when I open/close my blinds or turn on the light.

Living in London is pretty crazy and now that I’m here it’s weird to me that everything is so close. Heck, my bus journey to the Strand goes through Baker Street, Regent Street, Oxford Street, and Trafalgar Square (just to name a few). The depressing thing is that you pass these amazing shops before realising you can’t afford anything, particularly today when I spotted a sign declaring ‘Spend £225 or more and you get a free scarf!’. Wow. So generous. Another thing about London is that everything just moves so fast – you’re just ambling along and BAM watch that bus or BAM start running because that taxi isn’t going to stop at the crossing or BAM commuters are shoving past you.

24 Types Of Essay Crises That Every Student Will Recognize

Another thing to remember about London? Do not, and I repeat, DO NOT stand on the left side of the escalators, because you’re gonna get your arse kicked by some angry commuters.

I want pie too!

Did I mention that everything that I wanted to say has gone out of my head? At the moment all I’ve given you so far is some vague tips/realities of London which aren’t all that useful. Now all I can think of to say is how wonderfully terrifying my actual studies are as doing a combined honours means even more work than usual. I’m taking modules in Classics I’ve never touched before so literally understand nothing and the amount of books I have to read is actually quite traumatising. Not to mention that the last book I read for my English module had some very graphic sex scenes with some dodgy stuff thrown in just to spice it up all featuring a girl called Eleanor. Honestly, you can only imagine how weird my seminar was hearing ‘Eleanor is shallow’ or reading about Eleanor’s sexcapades was, especially as I kept zoning out only to hear more people insult the character that shares my name.

I’m pretty sure I failed at being a fresher, particularly as the one club that I dared to go to ended in complete disaster. Not only did I have fresher’s flu (which resulted in my losing my voice for 4 days), but the club was terrible with loud noise that was supposed to be ‘music’ and so many people that you couldn’t move for bodies. I left with a friend, only to be ditched by someone else who was supposed to show us how to get home. Tubes were down, so we rang a friend to get directions for buses home only to have a few men try to walk with us down the road (This was at 1am), be soaked by rain, have thunder and lightning start up and, best yet, no coat. NIGHTMARE. I just wanted to go home and sleep.

I also thought that the first few weeks of lectures would be pretty laid back, manageable, and at a reasonable level of difficulty. I’m halfway through my second week of lectures and already some of them are making no sense, just sounding like a bunch of gobble-dee-gook.

27 Unforgettable “Friends” Moments That Will Always Be There For You

In other news, in case you haven’t seen my latest post on my online portfolio do check it out if you’re interested – it’s about my latest published piece on fashion soundtrack about Banks’ new album. However, my piece was ‘edited’ to be more positive, so you can read the original and how it was changed – it’s pretty ridiculous.

Anyway, I’d better leave it at that and get back to trying to understand my notes as well as getting some work done. I’ll try and be back here soon, but you might have guessed by now that ‘soon’ is probably ‘next month’. Oh well, see ya!

Leave a Reply

