Role Models

Recently I’ve been writing an article about the misrepresentation of youth (link about it coming soon), but there was one thing that I was wondering about and, if you’ve read the title of this post, you know what it is.

Role Models.

^^This is the first image that pops up on Google Images when you type in ‘Role Models’, which may actually fit my discussion/rant/complaint/musing quite well.

Some of the older generation think that all young people – I think that that means under 20s or under 18s as that is apparently the age when you become older and much wise – look to celebrities like Miley Cyrus for guidance. I could rant and rave for hours about this belief, but to sum up: don’t hate on Miley, no we don’t all look to her for guidance, young people aren’t mindless followers and out of everyone in the world, I think that young people are the ones who question everything the most. It’s true that some young people do follow examples set by celebrities, but the majority of us have our own opinions and personalities.

So if not celebrities, then who do we look to for guidance? Personally, I don’t really look to one person to follow in all aspects of life. As a child, I looked to my parents as role models to see what was right and what was wrong, but it didn’t take long before I could figure that out for myself. Experience always helps, but you are the one who has to make the judgement at the end of the day. I may choose not to go up on a stage and twerk away, but Miley Cyrus did for example. Because of that, I am still the same blogger trying to get by and Miley Cyrus is the only person anyone could talk about in reference to the VMAs and has made a big name for herself.

Not bad, Miley, not bad at all.

Going back to my original point, not all teenagers look to celebrities for guidance despite the fact that some of the older generation have the misconception that all young people are the same. It’s a shame that in our society so many people believe that the influence of celebrities is so significant among the younger generation and that people are making drastic decisions based on this. ‘Blurred Lines’ has been banned in several student unions on the basis that it promotes misogyny, but I know no one that has watched ‘Blurred Lines’ without realising that there is irony. Come on now people, there’s a goat in the video.

So what do you think? Who is your role model? Let me know and see you next time ~Eleanor

Leave a Reply

