My Two Reading Brains

I always feel that when I’m reading that I have two completely different brains. My first reading brain is the one that I use for challenging novels, such as classics like Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights. I’m meticulous when I read with this brain, paying attention to every word and little detail. How can you not when you’re faced with lavish descriptions, dramatic imagery and poetic language? Using this reading brain I’m an incredibly slow reader and I can only read chunks at a time before I have to leave the book and go to something else for a while to give my brain a break.

Then there’s my other brain – my teenage brain, as I like to think of it. I use this one when I’m reading those wonderful books you can get on a Kindle for £2 that require very little attention. They’re books that don’t make me search for deeper meanings or question my existence – these are the books that I can read in a couple of hours without difficulty. In all honesty, these are also the books which allow me to completely loose myself and forget the rest of the world for a while.

I was thinking about my two different reading brains – or mindsets or however you want to call it – when I was thinking about the book that I’m in progress of writing at the moment. It’s no secret that I want to write novels one day (be that tomorrow or in 15 years) and I’ve been writing since a very young age. My first ‘book’ was written in primary school when I was so angry that a boy I liked moved away that he got bitten by a spider in his new house (Don’t worry, he gets better in the sequel and buys me a pony to say sorry which I ride off into the sunset on). 

The book that I’m trying to write at the moment is a book that I would choose to read when I just want to loose myself again. It isn’t serious – it’s just a bit of fun; your typical teenage, fantasy, romantic-y type that doesn’t need you to focus. You don’t need an extensive education to grasp the meaning of it or need someone else to offer up different interpretations; it’s straightforward and, most importantly, readable. Well, I think it is anyway. I’m sure someone else will disagree, but then when is there something that nobody disagrees with-

Sorry, getting too deep for a Saturday evening now. Hope you lot are well and catch you next time ~El

One thought on “My Two Reading Brains

Leave a Reply

