Summer Days – Book Feast

It’s no secret that a perfect day for me includes reading a great book and, yes, it may be sad but I can’t help it. A few days ago you wouldn’t have been able to make contact with me between 9am-2pm because I had my nose stuck in a book that I had been desperate to read for so long. 

If you haven’t already checked her out, go look up Jennifer L Armentrout and have a read. Everyone will presume that she is your normal run-of-the-mill author who writes books for teenage girls, but don’t let the stereotype fool you. I first discovered her when her book Obsidian was suggested to me by Amazon. I was skeptical of the blurb – girl finds out her neighbours are aliens? Seriously? Why would you fall in love with ET? But the reviews for the book were great, so I thought ‘eh, why not?’. 

Oh. My. Goodness. I have never been so wrong. 

Obsidian had me hooked from the first page until the last and, ever since finishing it, I have been desperately watching Jennifer’s blog to see when the next book she writes is released. The Lux Series has been my favourite of her works so far and I have just read Origin, the book that was released two days ago, and holy smokes was it amazing. Some of you won’t like it because – let’s face it – not everyone likes the Young Adult, romance-types. BUT LET ME TELL YOU THIS. The Lux Series has fighting, action, some seriously cool characters and, as a blogger, I adore the heroine who owns a t-shirt saying ‘My Blog is better than your Vlog’. 

Jennifer has also written other books, such as Obsession, Wait for You and Cursed – all which I have adored. Wait for You comes as an incredibly close second to the Lux novels. 

It’s books such as these that mean that I spend a lot of time curled up on my sofa delaying walking my dog for another hour so I can read. I, along with a million other girls, then get to meet characters such as Daemon Black which just raise my expectations of guys tenfold. Not that you guys are any bad, but just read the Lux novels to see what you’re up against. It’s like the Tom Fletcher wedding speech which will always be the best wedding speech and how it raises our expectations way too high. 

Anyway, let me know what your summer books have been and whether you’d recommend them to everyone or just pretend like you never read them. If you’re interested, definitely check out Jennifer L Armentrout as she is a fantastic author. I promise you that in a few years she will be known by everyone and you will all understand my references about my crush on Daemon Black. 

2 thoughts on “Summer Days – Book Feast

  1. I have found the Lux series on goodreads & added it to my to-read list. I love a good series! Thanks for the recommendation! 😊

Leave a Reply

