Technologically Bookish

I was asked today whether I thought that, in the near future, all bookstores and libraries would close down to make way for the new age of technology. We all know that technology has already filtered into the book world in the form of the Kindle. To begin with, I was skeptical about the Kindle – there’s something about a book that technology really can’t grasp. The feel of having a weight of a book in your hands, turning each crisp page and even that new book smell; none of which can be found among the screens, no matter the resolution.

However, I am neither happy or sad to say, that I have converted. Now I’m not going to say that Kindle is the best thing in the world because I don’t know you so I can’t really advise you on these kind of things. BUT what I can say is that I absolutely adore my Kindle – not only do you get books a lot cheaper, but a whole new world of authors are suddenly accessible (some favourites include Jennifer L Armentrout, Samantha Young, Abbi Glines – warning, they’re what a teenage girl likes, so not necessarily your cup of tea). Not only that, but it sure saves a lot of packing space when going on holiday and a hell of a lot lighter. 

I think it’s inevitable that technology will take over most aspects of our lives, but I think for authors and readers alike that this is a good thing. I think it would inspire the new generation to get reading, which only means that authors will be even more rewarded for their work. There are so many authors who aren’t recognised and appreciated enough, so more readers just means better and brighter things for the authors that deserve it. 

I think that’s the end of my rant today – let me know your thoughts and what you want me to talk about next. 

~El

2 thoughts on “Technologically Bookish

  1. Pingback: My recent favourite reads on Kindle | alwayslovetoreadalot

Leave a Reply

