Escaping Reality

OK so it’s no secret that I love books and I thought I’d talk about them some more with the very few people who actually take their time to read this. 

As a proud owner of a Kindle, I spend a lot of time looking up books on Amazon. I was skeptical of Kindles at first, being a lover of that old/new book smell and the feeling of turning each crisp page, but I absolutely adore it. In the long run, I think I -and my parents – have saved a lot of money with it. The most expensive book I’ve bought on my Kindle was at £4.99, but they usually range from 99p – £3 for me. I even have had a few freebies. 

I do miss my days in Waterstones, searching for a summer read, but I have to admit that using Amazon is so much easier even though I do feel a bit lazy. As I want to publish my own books some day, I’ve realised some pretty important ‘musts’ if i want to publish. As you can now self-publish on amazon for kindle, it’s vital you hook anyone browsing. First of all, a nice title goes a long way and also the picture! Today I was looking at some books and, for some, I spent so long trying to figure out what the picture was all about that I grew uninterested. For goodness sake, if you have a romance novel I don’t want a picture of a girl dramatically crying and screaming, looking more as if she’s giving birth then losing the love of her life. 

I admit, I am guilty of spending a lot of time in the romance department with fantasy a close second. At this point, I think I am safe to say that I am an expert in the typical romance books out these days. They either feature a love triangle (usually with one good boy and one bad boy), or they feature someone who is ‘unattainable’ OR it’s about a bad boy who suddenly falls head over heels in love for a quiet, shy good girl who is smart. 

Don’t get me wrong – I like the message that it isn’t just the beautiful, vain people that end up with other beautiful people and the rest of us normal people have a shot, but come on. So what if he’s good looking and is a rock star in a band – I want something a bit more than ‘each look he gave me made me swoon’. If there’s some guy who is known to be a bit of a sleaze and is looking at me, I don’t care how good looking he is – tell him to bugger off already. The whole ‘wounded’ part of the lead guy who is just really understood isn’t always realistic in some situations. I’ve found some authors just throw in a death in the family of the guy just to give him that emotional edge, but it isn’t enough to just have that. Death is such a devastating topic that you can’t just brush over – you have to explore it and actually talk about it instead of just having the female character think ‘Ohmygosh he’s so deep so now I love him’. 

Right, so what was I talking about again? Actually, to be honest, I’m not sure I know exactly where I’m going with this. But ou know how in romance novels everything centres on one guy and you just know that the girl will get him in the end or that he will abandon everything because he loves her? Well why can’t real life be like that? Why can’t you have a spotlight that suddenly shines on the one that you’ll end up with so that you don’t just look past them on your search for the one

On a side note, I’m trying to branch out to some other genres and have read a couple of science fiction books. I have got through a few action and adventure novels as well, but can’t find anything really gripping. If you have any suggestions, I’d love them ^_^

Anyway, thanks again for reading and drop a comment below to let me know your thoughts. ~El

2 thoughts on “Escaping Reality

Leave a Reply

